Faux Fur

I received a 10% off coupon for Saks, so I was browsing the sale section and I found this:

I’m trying to sort out how I feel about faux fur. Real fur grosses me out and I don’t think long fur coats are fashionable at all.  I hate when a woman brushes up against me on the street with her dead animal. However, some fur accessories & this Alice + Olivia jacket are rather cute.  I admit that I wore a faux fur wrap at my wedding.

Photo Credit: Ethan Yang, the most amazing wedding photographer.

I read Alicia Silverstone’s article on the issue. She points out that wearing faux fur might be an advertisement for real fur.  That makes sense for fake mink coats.  However, I would hope that no one would think that I was actually wearing a zebra’s fur!

My main concern is that the faux fur is actually from a dog or bunny.  I wouldn’t buy cheap fake fur for that reason.  It’s probably wishful thinking on my part that a designer jacket wouldn’t be part of such a shady practice.

On the pro side of the list, it shows people you don’t need to have real fur to be fabulous and glamorous.  I’m not sure if that outweighs the cons.

On a side note, Stacey Bendet, the Alice + Olivia designer, is  “vegan?”  She doesn’t eat animals, but she’ll design with leather and fur?!?

Leave a comment